Phoenix Meets Dragon: A Recipe For Disaster (NaPoWriMo Day 2)

\

17626665_675430455977426_9092199969575220597_n

 

 

 

All my poems
are actually items
on take-out menus
from Chinese restaurants
offering free delivery
and a can of soda
with every order.
Too bad I forget
The numbers
And hate telephones.
I get so hungry.
I channel my inner Guanyin
Dismount your Dragon
Still my thousand arms
Sit high atop
Fragrant Mountain
Float desire
In the heart of a lotus
Listen to cries of the ocean
Wait eons for the waters to part.
Unable to wait anymore
Guided by the stars
I shake off the last
Pile of ashes
Promise myself
To trade my wings
For the slip of a minnow
Weight scales against feathers
Bait my body with honeycomb
Be buoyant and sweet
Hoping this time to do better
Avoid being torched
Then drowned by
The flare of your nostrils
Your maelstrom of words
Your ineluctable form
Protean and powerful
Your waves on the wind.
But somehow I still
Need to burn, baby, burn
In the cross of your holocaust.
Pregnant with pollen
The beehive
I swallowed bursts.
Lovestrung and beestung
Knowing these spills of honey
Will never ease
That fire you breathe
I stumble along the shore.
Stray pups run to me
Frisking and licking.
I stroke their fur
Pat their heads
Send them home.
My feathers are ready
To ignite again.
The moon’s shining through
The lining of my skin.
Another samsara cycle blown.

 

 

17626430_675430549310750_9125295742528029807_n

 

logo-napowrimo

Prompt of the Day:

Write a poem inspired by, or in the form of, a recipe! It can be a recipe for something real, like your grandmother’s lemon chiffon cake, or for something imaginary, like a love potion or a spell.

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

