When This Boy Croons Every Moon in June Blooms (NaPoWriMo Day 4 – Enigma Variations)

tumblr_oll4qxNv261ucbsp6o1_500

It’s not leaving if you never intended to stay.

Where are you now, boy?
It’s the winter, you know.

It’s too late to die for Eurydice,
but Persephone will be back soon…

She’ll leave the pomegranate seeds behind, this time.

I want you to tell me all you know you don’t know.
Don’t worry about the riddler fiddling on your roof.

Voynich?

Why compare yourself to him?
He barely existed.

His manuscript was all a trick
to trap curious little cats like you
who like to cradle mysteries.

Keeping themselves wrapped in Salome’s veils,
drowning in various shades of green, brown,
red, yellow, and blue..

It was probably a medieval cookbook
I wish it had a recipe to bring you to me.
I’d whip that up in a jiffy.

Someone told me you were dead.
Last seen with a lyre as a pillow
for your disembodied head.

Floating along the river,
Resigned to your watery bed
Singing mournfully…

Pobrecito…

Piera’s springs dried up, they said,
after you drank your last cup
the moon sank into day, and vowed
never to rise again.

Everyone’s happiness is on a timer.
Didn’t your mama ever tell you that?

Tic toc, tic toc…
The proverbial mouse ran up the clock

The clock struck twelve, the slipper was lost
But every fairy still spins her tale
While this little Miss Muffet
Sits still on her tuffet

Wishing the spider away…

tumblr_ok1v65zU2L1w1y15so3_500

logo-napowrimo

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Sangbad says:

    Enigmatic…lots coming at mind…

    1. ccthinks says:

      Thank you so much! I just updated it with my spoken word track, just for fun. I love poor Orpheus…

  2. oh i love this! clever weaving of myths in a playful conversational tone !

    1. ccthinks says:

      Thank you so much lovely! I get a little frisky but I love mixing myths & fairytales & nursery rhyme into one huge jungle gym! xox

  3. krstaten says:

    I really loved this. I hope you don’t mind, I’m linking to a fellow participant’s poem each day as well so I’m linking yours in my post for today. =) Thanks for sharing!

  4. Perfect and befuddling! This made me google lots and lots which is always a good thing…

    https://goo.gl/GAiOIy

  5. Pingback: Day Five
  6. An absolutely stunning and moving piece of art. I swooned over your poem – I loved all the allusions (although I had to look up Voynich – somehow, I must have missed the article on that last year). And you and I share a love of Orpheus (I wrote a poem alluding to him last month or so).
    Congratulations on being featured poet of the day – a much deserved accolade.

  7. ccthinks says:

    Thank you all so much for the lovely support and the kind words of encouragement. Of course I don’t mind your linking to it, and am very grateful. Have a lovely day and write on!

Leave a Reply

