La Taurina (NaPoWriMo Day 9 – Spenserian Stanza)

17807488_679590245561447_1414219772030245325_o

 

 

Red – color of desire; Red – emblem of flame.
Red blood, Red lips, Red fury, Red skies, Red tide –
Harbinger of death; my blame bleeds Red shame –
Red as your hair; my Red eyes sleep deprived.
In the silt of moonless night, you arrived –
Open-grave body absorbing my dread
Of all things Red, and somehow I survived.
You lie, instead, in your crimson pool – dead.
Mama was right when she said I should never wear Red.

 

 

 

logo-napowrimo

Leave a Reply

