Negative Space

on

Did you know it only takes

20 seconds to destroy

the dream?
Standing by the kitchen window

coffee beans and thoughts

a blur; the whirr of the grinder

my morning ritual comfort – the only

time I ever take the time to count time
1

2

3

4

5
I count as I gaze outside

at a froth of sea and sky.
Today is

blue

blue

blue

impossibly blue.
Alcatraz, Angel Island, the Marin Headlands

beckon the waves and wind
I just keep counting
6

7

8

9

10
I look down at my hands 

the skin looks dry and thin

my fingers sprout black feathers

and try to fly away again.
11

12

13

14

15
Your face magically appears,

barely recognizable

but I recognize you…

as strange and beautiful

as the faint shiver of day-moon.
(A neuroscientist wrote

the brain processes both

fantasy and reality the same way

in the same place in the brain.
So deep down in the swerve

of my mind, the curve of your cheek, 

the space between your breaths

is as real to me as the buzz of

the Colombian beans I now grind)
16

17

18

19
I stop the grinder just for a moment

and realize I’ve been staring the sun

straight in the eye… 
(grinding’s almost done…)
20
A handful of starlust

A whistle of a teakettle 

Sunlight sickles 

Through the dust motes

And you’re gone.

Leave a Reply

