Though I Can’t Swim

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_54vvq3ge228swsgso48wkokcs_640

 

My head is twirling,
Which is no surprise,
Since I have
Umbrella-stepped
My way through life,

Landing like Mary Poppins
On every rooftop, one by one.
Razing days like sugarcane
From sun to sun.

I was born in mid-air.
Tip-toeing over tightropes.
Slicing past all the pigeon-wire.
Shredding skin, black quills
Erupting from my spine.

The taste of despair sweet as wine
On these lips of mine that can’t be contained,
Not even within the lines of these
Rhymes, so I won’t bother to try,
That would be a guise, and I so want
To step out from beneath the tent

Of this circus act,
Slip past the silk, de-glaze the paste
In this oily make-up. Yet, I still need
To warp your reality, sing the impossible,
Twang the strings of a love sublime.

Play me your music. Let me dance
To the rhythm of your desire, I’ll crash
On the ground, and renounce the sky just to
Snake myself around the river of your ankles,
Risk your stepping on my throat with cloven foot
As you climb over the coals of this pyre I light.

 

 

 

16832187_257426248043306_6386070100642625941_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

